2021 Best Development Award Recipients

The juror panel chose seven recipients for the 2021 Best Development Award Program. Each year, 1000 Friends of Iowa receives nominations for smart growth/shrink and development, which are then judged against strict criteria in their respective category by a group of jurors. This year’s jurors were Megan Down, Project Manager for Impact 7G; Jim Engle, Director of Iowa Downtown Resource Center; Jeff Hanson, Community Development Operations Manager of the City of Sioux City; Ulrike Passe, Associate Professor of Architecture and Director for the Center for Building Energy Research at Iowa State University and Bethany Wilcoxon, Senior Adviser for McClure Engineering.

A virtual award ceremony to celebrate these sustainability heroes will be held Thursday, Jan. 27, 2022 at 11 a.m. Register here for the ceremony: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_OR-vO8ePQeKGNJKC8zKfug

The 2021 winners are listed below. Click through’s with images are forthcoming.

People United for Responsible Land Use