Best Development Awards

1000 Friends of Iowa established the Best Development Awards in 2001. The awards showcase development projects and programs in Iowa that best reflect the principles of smart growth, sustainability, and uphold the mission of 1000 Friends of Iowa.


Tuesday, Jan. 23, 2024, Capitol Rotunda

To learn about our past winners, click here.

Nominations Open! Deadline to apply is November 17, 2023

Our awards recognize the efforts of businesses, developers, cities, organizations, and individuals responsible for work in 12 categories. Click the links for information about the category and nomination process.

The winners of the Best Development Awards are models of responsible development practices that provide benefits to the community, the environment, and the quality of life for future generations. The program is designed to bring attention to cities, companies, non-profit organizations and individuals who demonstrate how responsible development and planning practices provide benefits to the community, the environment and the quality of future generations. The very best projects show collaboration between public and private sectors to build, re-purpose or preserve our infrastructure. These buildings and projects provide sustainability to our state by considering site placement, design, water efficiency, energy management, the materials and resources used, the indoor environmental quality, and public use and benefit.

Read about our past award recipients by clicking the ‘four corners’ in the right-hand area of title bar on the map above. You can also click here for longform text.

If you’re interested in supporting our awards program, download the sponsorship and benefits information. Sponsoring is easy — just click here to select your sponsorship level! 

Thank you to our sponsors and always to our loyal members for their continuous support.

People United for Responsible Land Use